Skip to content

Day 5: Kind of a Fail

July 10, 2010

One of the things about having a public food blog is that everything can see your dietary mishaps. I had kind of a stupid food day today and I’ll lay it all out here. Eh.

I got up and had a cup of coffee. My intention was to have a little snack and then go for a walk/run, then go to Starbucks for some Perfect Oatmeal on the way to work. But somehow, that did not happen.

I had my coffee.

coffee

Then I went for my walk. It sort of turned into a run, 4.1 miles. When I got back it was later than I’d planned. No time for the oatmeal plan. So I grabbed this with the intention of having something more substantial for lunch after I got to work and get some stuff done.

apple, Laughing Cow light blue cheese

Unfortunately that was the last thing I ate until around 6:30pm. When I got to work I started feeling sick. Headachey, stomach achey, tired. I was feeling really bad.

In retrospect, I think now that I was probably dehydrated and underfed. And that was what was making me feel sick. But at that point I felt like I did not want to eat ANYthing. So I didn’t. And, predictably, I kept feeling worse and worse. I dragged home around 5:30. At that point, I thought I either needed to keel over into bed, or eat something STAT.

My mother was really jonesing to go out to dinner so I suggested a new Japanese place in our neighborhood. I figured I could get some nice salty noodle broth that could help get my electrolytes back in balance if I was in fact dehydrated.

We got to the place and they very kindly brought us some edamame on the house. YES.

edamame

Then I had some salad with a nice sesame dressing. Guess I was kind of hungry after all.

salad with sesame dressing

My husband ordered a soft shell crab appetizer. That was yummy. I had about half of one of these pieces.

soft shell crab

Finally, my buckwheat soba noodles in broth arrived! I pounced on it. I think I really did need the salty broth because I just slurped it all up. Nice greens in it too.

buckwheat soba noodles in broth

It also came with a side of tempura shrimp and veggies. I had one little piece of tempura eggplant, one shrimp and a piece of carrot. Yum.

tempura

So, the day ended much better. I should have really eaten a lot more during the early day. I should have drank WATER. I did not, and ended up feeling terrible. It reminded me of how I felt the day of the Oakland marathon. It was a much more severe scenario then, but similar symptoms. Will I ever learn? This run seemed so much shorter, and it didn’t occur to me until hours later what had happened. Ah well.

The dinner brought me back to 75%. I still want to go to bed early.

From → Food

3 Comments
  1. Your fail of a day was a reminder to the rest of us to keep hydrated and don’t skip meals even when we get busy. Glad you weren’t coming down with something, and that you had a nice yummy meal out! šŸ™‚

    My local stores don’t have that LC cheese flavor yet- I’m losing patience! lol MUST TRAVEL TO FIND IT! šŸ™‚

    • I found it at Trader Joe’s! Yummy! Someone at my WW mtg said there is also a new spicy kind of flavor.

  2. I do that too sometimes, I forget to eat, mostly when I have to eat by myself, I forget or get lazy to eat and then feel tired, depressed, sick, cold, etc. your dinner looks very yummy.

Leave a Reply

