Skip to content

Day 17: From Totoro to Sashimi

July 22, 2010

Started with (of course) coffee. Do you know who that is on my mug? It’s Totoro, from THE BEST animated children’s film in the UNIVERSE. My family and I must have watched this film over 100 times. It is the best thing ever- beautiful, subtle, moving, funny, gorgeous. I love Totoro so much. Drinking this coffee made me happy.

Had breakfast before working out, which turned out to be half an avocado. (Mr. McBody had eaten the other half and left it on the counter) I spritzed it with lemon juice and some sea salt, and ate it with a spoon. DELICIOUS.

Went to work out. Whoa! It was a crazy workout. Ropes of doom, sideways hurdles, plyometric jumps and more.ย We did three rounds of 10-station circuits. Yow.

Came home. Ate lunch. Pumpkin bolanis (first time trying them!) with garlic minty cheese and lentil curry. It was spicier than I’d expected, but very yummy!

I needed a little pick me up before leading my WW meeting. I went to Starbucks. I would like everyone to note that I did NOT get my customary shortbread cookies to go with my iced coffee! See that?? WOO HOO!! My coffee and cookie is like PB and J. It’s like Lucy and Ricky, Batman and Robin. They always go together. But not today.

After my WW meeting, I had a great dinner with my WW BFF. Luckily for us, there is a sushi restaurant about 10 steps away from our meeting place. Yay.

I had some hot sake to make up for the Happy Hour I missed out on yesterday. It was quite nice.

The salad was good. I ate it all.

The miso soup was too salty. I only had a couple of sips.

half hamachi (yellowtail) and half maguro (tuna)

The entree was a mix of sashimi. It was so so good. It also came with a bowl of rice and I did not eat one bite of that. Yay me.

When I got home, I tried a cup of this new tea I’d found, in lieu of the dessert I might be trying to find. It was super delicious, very comforting and lovely.

Sweet Coconut Thai Chai

So, that was my day! I feel good about it. Everything was quite deliberate, no oops or slips today. A lot less stress (I think maybe the workout helped with this). Good day!

AND (whispering): day 3, no sugar. See more about this here.

From → Food

7 Comments
  1. OMG, that is the cutest cup I’ve ever seen!

  2. good job on skipping the jelly to your peanut butter…or is it the peanut butter to your jelly? lol Oh well- anyway GOOD JOB! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love that tea! If I am having a I WANT SOMETHING SWEET moment, I make a cup of that. ๐Ÿ™‚ YUM!

  3. I love avocado so much. I eat it plain. Or in my sandwich. Ive never eaten it plain w lemon juice and salt before though. Ooh sushi how yummy. Havent had that in a bit. I love chai. I got a chai frother a few months ago, and I use loose tea that I order online (I get all my tea online cuz I love tea that much lol) and now I can make chai tea lattes with frothed soy milk and cinnamon sprinkled on top. Its good and so much cheaper than a store and healthier too im sure. Only lately, ive been too lazy to make it. I should.

  4. Sweeter permalink

    my sister and I got so excited when we saw Totoro in Toy Store 3. She was very bitter that Totoro had no speaking parts though.

    I tried to find bolanis at Whole Foods with no luck.

    I wish avocado came in a mini size. I would eat more of them that way. I hate dealing with leftover avocado.

    • My daughter gave me the heads-up about Totoro in TS3 too – wahoooo! But yeah, he deserves a speaking, or at least a yawning part. Totoro didn’t have a lot of lines in his own movie either.

      I think WF only carries Bolanis in California, but they ARE mail-order if you are eager to try. http://www.bolaniandsauce.com

      They have mini avocados here too! Like the size of plums. Cute.

      • Sweeter permalink

        what?? mini avocados do exist in reality? I just thought it was a wishful fantasy of mine. must.find.mini.avocados.

  5. Hmmm, that’s the second Totoro reference I’ve seen lately. I think the Universe wants me to see that movie. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And all your food today looked wonderful! Had my own Japanese food fest today at lunch.

    That tea looks fantastic! I must find some.

Leave a Reply

