Skip to content

Day 34: Fast Food, Slow Food

August 8, 2010

Saturday was a real rusharound. Started with coffee.

Had to rush off to the city for the final class of my Solo Performance Workshop. No time for breakfast, so grabbed this during my mid-class break.

After class was over, I was WIPED OUT and hungry. But I only literally had five minutes to grab some food then run to another theater where I was having a private consultation with a director from Comedy Central. (yeah!!) I ran into Jack in the Box and got this.

Chicken Fajita Pita

I ate about 3/4 of it. I was impressed that it actually had quite a bit of vegetables in it. Lots of tomatoes, grilled onions. It was good, for fast food.

The consult was super great, very helpful and encouraging. He was helping me with the final details of my new solo performance piece, “The Ice Cream Gene,” which I will be premiering TOMORROW (Monday Aug 6th), 7pm at the Stagewerx Theater (533 Sutter Street, San Francisco). Come on out if you can, Foodie fans!

When that was over I had an iced coffee and a petite vanilla scone. Which is like two bites big. And… decidedly unworthy. Won’t do that again.

After the consult, rushed home. Exhausted. Took a quick nap then it was in the car. Date night! We were going to see “The Wanderings of Odysseus.” I was not quite sure my fried brain was up for this. I tried to study a synopsis of The Oddyssey on the way down. We got there early and just stumbled upon this place for dinner. It turned out to be so so so so so good.

First, glass of Prosecco.

Then bread. Which I could not resist. It also came with a plate of olive oil and I used that instead of the butter. Most of the time. 🙂

Split a very delicious salad with hubby. I forgot to take a pic until it was half gone.

My entree was seared tuna with pureed eggplant and roasted asparagus. OMG. It was one of the most delicious dinners EVER. Also smallest. I gave one of my tuna pieces to husband and so the rest of it was about five bites. But every bite was so. So. good.

The play was excellent. I was a little drowsy, and it was almost two and a half hours long, but still, it was great.

When we got home, I saw that our daughter had been busy making shortbread while we were gone. If there is one thing I looooooooooooooooove it is shortbread. I mean: white flour, white sugar, and butter. Ha. I picked up the camera to take a piece of the little triangle I was about to consume, and noted she’d already taken a few pictures. 🙂

fresh from the oven (photo by Emma)

the first slice (photo by Emma)

What Mama ate

Boy, that looks like a lot of food from today and it certainly crossed the spectrum from fast-food to haute cuisine. I’d say it was a good day.

From → Food

2 Comments
  1. Mmmm, shortbread. I mean really, mmmmm.

  2. Good luck on your show tonite!! 🙂
    MMM I LOVE pan seared tuna! And eggplant! That sounds soo good! I had tuna sat nite too – in sushi! I tried shortbread once but wasn’t my thing. Too plain for me but your daughters looks like it came out nice!

Leave a Reply

