Skip to content

Day 38: Lunch & Dinner Dates

August 12, 2010

Today I had two surprise lunch and dinner dates. Fun!

I started the day with my now-classic coffee + pumpkin bolani. Perfect.

Went to work. Midday, it turned out my husband needed to come to my street to run an errand (okay, he was there to bring me my work keys for the evening! so nice of him!). He invited me to join him for lunch. How could I resist? I could not. We went to Barney’s and I had a turkey burger with grilled onions, cheddar and whole wheat bread.

After work, I went to do my WW meeting. After that, my WW BFF and I went to dinner. We debated: our regular sushi place or the Everett & Jones BBQ across the street? We have been craving BBQ so much but I know I am going to be doing a lot of birthday celebratory eating this week, so we opted for the sushi place.

I had: miso soup, edamame and grilled mussels with egg whites.

It was a great combo of food in a nice portion. The mussels looked small but they turned out to be just right. And my lovely WW BFF treated me to the dinner for my birthday! How sweet!

When I got home, I wanted some ice cream. I had some Haagen-Dasz Java Chip in the refrigerator (this is part of “research” for my solo performance show, plus I need the empty carton for a photo shoot). I calculated the WW points. It was 8 points for 1/2 cup! GULP. I decided I did NOT want to eat 8 points worth of ice cream so I took out my scale and measured out exactly 4 points worth of ice cream. This is what it looked like, and it was just right, amount wise. This is where I am grateful to have the scale to give me that accuracy which I just could not guess on my own.

Have you ever weighed or measured your food?

From → Food

13 Comments
  1. It loks to me you have this nailed! Kudos on keeping yourself on your points. It takes balls (yes, balls) to shrink an icecream serving. Now, if you can only turn into fruit snacking instead of icecream…

    • Thanks. Sometimes I do choose fruit for dessert, but tonight I really deliberately chose the ice cream. It’s definitely not an everyday occurrence.

  2. ohdear. ice cream is 8 points?! :/

    • Um. It probably depends on the ice cream, but Haagen Dasz Java Chip ice cream is indeed 8 points for 1/2 cup. Argh. I’m actually glad I know now though.

  3. I weigh and measure everything. πŸ™‚ It’s so much easier to be confident in my choices when I do it because there’s no guessing involved. πŸ™‚

    I eat ice cream on a regular basis, and I have never seen anything worth so many points! I’m so glad I’ve never tried that ice cream. Just saying. πŸ˜‰

  4. bethany permalink

    the thing i learned about haagen daz ice cream (and this counts for all flavors) when i came in to WW was that there are 4 SERVINGS in 1 PINT. I always thought the one pint was one serving πŸ™‚ i think that explains why i came to WW!!!
    lovely dining with you tonight my dear. Happy Birthday!

  5. Mary Catherine permalink

    I appreciate the accuracy of a scale. I began using one for baking after it was recommended for the Jim Lahey “no knead” bread as touted by Mark Bittman. What a great tool if you’re aiming for mindful meals.

  6. Yes, I do weigh and measure my food when I was calorie counting (which I’m going back to. Well, I would weigh dry pastas and meat. Not the veggies. I got pretty good at eyeballing πŸ™‚

  7. As always your food looks delicious! I am in awe of your ability to eat out so often and be on plan. I tend to not want to go out in fear of being bad. lol

    Ice cream and & are not friends…a little lactose intolerant- BUT I used to buy a light brand a couple of years ago then scoop it into 1/2 C serving size containers so I knew if I reached for it it was 2 WW points. Made it feel safer that it was all measured for me. lol

    Last weekend we bought a bag of baked chips- stats were 20 for 2 points. But I decided to weigh them and got much less than 20 on my plate. Sometimes weighing is the way (or WEIGH) to go. πŸ™‚

  8. I had edamame yesterday too. I had randomly bought it frozen a billion yrs ago and it was the only veggies in the freezer. But they tasted good I was surprised! (I have them at restaurants but never before from frozen). I don’t have a food scale, so I’ve never weighed my food. Sometimes, I look at serving sizes on boxes to see what they should be. Esp sandwich meat, I always check to see how many slices they recommend per sandwich, then use that. And once I measured my cereal to see how much should be in the bowl. Unsurprisingly, because this is a healthy cereal, it came up to the exact spot on the bowl that my cereal usually comes to when I didn’t measure it. So it’s a normal serving size. Otherwise, no. I eat as much as im hungry for, or for as much as I want to eat, and that’s that (except obviously in recipies I have to measure!)

  9. Believe it or not, I do weigh and measure foods, almost everything and pretty much automatically. πŸ™‚

  10. digital kitchen scales are the stuff that i always use on my kitchen when i weight things ,,*

Leave a Reply

