Skip to content

Day 41: Birthday Love

August 16, 2010

Started out my birthday with my favorite mug. Good morning Totoro!

Had the brilliant idea (thanks to comment here from Biz) that I should try to make my own oatmeal at home rather than spending an arm and a leg (plus having to drive there ) at Starbucks. Great idea!!

So I got a container of 1-minute Quaker Oats and made up a pot of oatmeal.

Added fresh blueberries, walnuts & almonds and a bit of half-and-half. 🙂 I was so excited! Tasted it and it was… okay. I mean, no, not really okay. Tasted super bland and just… UGH. Like the oatmeal I’ve been avoiding my whole life. Then it dawned on me that Starbucks must be adding SOMETHING (sugar? fat? butter?) into their “plain” oatmeal to make it so “perfect.” It’s crack! It has to be!!!!! Because I have just been addicted to their oatmeal and I thought, wow, I am an oatmeal convert!! But this homemade oatmeal tasted just as nasty as every other oatmeal I’ve ever had. Even with all this good stuff in it.

So disillusioned. Back to Malt-o-Meal?? (which I love)

After breakfast went to my first kettlebell class. It was awesome!! I am very excited about this new fitness path.

Before hitting the road to go up to Vichy Hot Springs to meet up with my girls, had some lunch. Half pumpkin and half a lentil bolani!  Yay. Plus a luscious juicy plum.

Drove a bunch of hours. Arrived at the hot springs place but it was going to be a while before dinner. Had some grapes as a snack.

Met up with the girls YAY! Went to a local brewpub place for dinner. It was not the most spectacular dinner ever, but the company was awesome.

Had a couple bites of calamari.

And a glass of wine.

My entree was filet mignon with a pile of mashed potatoes (90% of which I gave to one of the girls) and some veggies.

And a salad which I almost forgot to capture.

The meal was OK. It was not the best meal I’ve ever had. It did not hold a candle to the food I had at Bocanova recently. BUT like I said, I wasn’t there so much for the food so much as the company. My girls gave me the most beautiful card EVER which they hand-marbled, painted and wrote.

After dinner, we went back to our room and had (double chocolate) cake and  (Ben & Jerry’s coffee Heath bar) ice cream. If this looks like a small portion, don’t worry; I had seconds. 🙂


I received some very awesome, very Foodie McBody gifts:

iPod shuffle for my Las Vegas 1/2 marathon training!

All in all, a very lovely and happy birthday. 51 is not bad at all.

From → Food

6 Comments
  1. Awesome food, awesome gifts, awesome YOU!!!!! Happy Birthday, Angel!!!! *Hugs*

  2. Happy Birthday Susan!

    I have an oatmeal (what I call porridge) link. Scott’s Porridge Oats. Milled in Scotland, but available here in some delis or International food stores and online.

    http://www.englishteastore.com/scpooa2.html

    This is a link I found in a hasty search.

    I cook this with water, adding a little salt and eat it with milk, as we Scots do.
    My English husband has honey on his,an abomination I can hardly bear to watch, but he likes it.

  3. Oh my goodness, I LOVE the picture on the box!!!

  4. wendy permalink

    I had a look at what ingredients are in the Starbucks atmeal:

    whole grain rolled oats (with oat bran), salt, guar gum, calcium carbonate, iron, niacinamide, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin b1), calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride (vitamin b6), folic acid.

    No funny stuff there. 🙂

    It’s crucial to make oatmeal with salt though – and I also add some cinnamon.

  5. Happy Birthday!

    I have yet to read those books but I continue to hear wonderful things about them… I’ll be interested to know your thoughts on them.

  6. Happy birthday! For the quaker oatmeal, my mother used to make it in a pot on the stove (which tasted good) but I’ve recently learned it’s super easy to make it in the microwave and it’s still good. Just put your amount in the bowl with salt and water and microwave for one or 2 minutes and it’s done! I tried that with generic store brand oats, and it was watery so maybe stick to a name brand. Maybe you forgot salt and that’s why yours was bland? My mother used to serve hers with milk and sugar. I eat mine with soymilk, brown sugar and fruit. Maltomeal looks like maltex which we used to eat when I was a kid as well (with milk and sugar). Its so good but I have not noticed it anywhere around here, but maybe I havent looked. We’d have oatmeal, maltex or cream of wheat (now my default weekend breakfast) about once a weekend. Yummi! I love fried calamari by the way. My friends and I are always getting that for apps. Ooh and I love steak too.

Leave a Reply

