Skip to content

Day 45: Good Leftovers, Bummer Restaurant

August 19, 2010

Today: started with coffee.

Then I had a seriously kick-ass two hour workout. When I got back, I decided to go with the yummy black wax Cheddar instead of my usual Laughing Cow Lite on the English muffin. 🙂 It was yummy.

For lunch, I had leftovers (turkey meatloaf and mashed cauliflower) from last night’s dinner. Just as good as last night!

Went to work. My mid-afternoon snack was a KIND bar. Mmm.

Then I went to my WW mtg. By the time I got out I was seriously hungry. I stopped at a restaurant near my house whose hummus I just love. (should have kept that in mind)

I ordered their special soup: chickpeas with couscous soup, with a side of baba ganouj (eggplant puree). It took FOREVER for the food to come. Meanwhile I got cranky.

When I saw the soup I was just taken aback. If there’s one thing that says “diet” to me, it’s a broth soup with vegetables. I mean, that’s the WW zero-point soup, or the Cabbage Soup Diet of yesteryear. Ack. It gives me the shivers (not in a good way). I took a taste. I should have been happy to see the cauliflower and the Israeli couscous that I like, but it tasted sour and not good. I was so bummed. But I didn’t feel like going and complaining. I just was too tired.

I filled up on baba ganouj and bread. That was my dinner. I should have ordered the hummus and falafel!!!! Agh!

Got home and comforted self with some tea. And some foodblogging.

And Top Chef. 🙂

From → Food

5 Comments
  1. next time, JOIN US! (although we had a kazillion points of food at dinner, including a piece of lime pie).

  2. Hummus and falafel always win. YUM. I wanna go back to that restaurant with you!

  3. I saw top chef last nite too, must have just gotten it after they uploaded it online (I don’t have cable). But I think I fell asleep at the end. I remember being awake but I think I thought I was awake but I was asleep. Hmm. Ill go read the recap. I love hummus. I don’t love boring soups. But I had thai chicken lemon coconut milk soup the last 2 nites from the thai place around the corner and it was so good!! (esp for a cold!)

  4. ya i think thats what it was called. something like that. id never had it before but was catching a cold and am not a soup fan so thought well this is chicken soup but with a twist..and it tasted good AND my cold seems better! yay!

Leave a Reply

