Skip to content

Foodblog CPR

October 20, 2010

Oh, I’ve been thinking about this blog an awful lot. I still take photos of probably 80% of my food but the blogging part – ohhhh the blogging part! I tried blogging from my phone for a little while, but I realized that the most valuable part of this blog (for me) is to reflect on what I eat, to think about the choices I’ve made.

I really want to get back on the wagon with this because I think it’s been really helpful. So here is a smattering of what I’ve eaten since I’ve been gone, WITH some reflection.

I’ve been eating an awful lot of these tomatoes. They’re called dry farmed Early Girls. I just eat them with salt, like pieces of fruit. They are so amazingly sweet and juicy. And they have saved me many many times because I’ve had them for lunches, and snacks and when I might have reached for a piece of cheese or a 4-point KIND bar. They’re awesome!

at the farmers market

But having occasional tomatoes has allowed me a bunch of nice indulgences, like this:

donut holes with caramel & chocolate dipping sauce

fried green tomatoes

scallops

I think this is how it is with me. I’ll have tomatoes and eggs and grapes. So that I can then go out and have donut holes and fried green tomatoes.

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Bethany permalink

    seems like a reasonable trade off to me! ❤

  2. I think that if eating wasn’t so “SOCIAL” we would have it easy. Would you have thought of having that fancy donut hole set up if it weren’t an “out” occasion?

    Tomatoes . . . .a great snack! For whatever meal you want!

    • So true about that. And I am the ultimate social animal. So…. it’s tomatoes!

      • I would never eat out if I weren’t “meeting a friend”. We could meet some place else! Nope. Always lunch or dinner. Silly!

  3. yum 🙂

  4. i like fresh tomatoes with sugar. we always ate them that way growing up, from the garden. or plain. i know a lot of people put salt on them but i cant. glad to see youre posting again. ill add you on the blog roll for my new restaurant blog.

Leave a Reply

