Skip to content

New Dutch Oven! Pot Roast! Yum!

October 21, 2010

Back to the food blogging!

So, I’ve decided to focus on the food and leaving off the morning coffee. I don’t generally photoblog every glass of water I drink. Just take it for granted that EVERY morning, I start it out with a mug of hot coffee with half and half. No sugar. That’s it. They pretty much all look like this.

I just had a small piece of Ak-Mak cracker with some peanut butter before going out to work out this morning. I forgot to take a picture. (oops!)

After coming back, I had a beautiful piece of pumpkin bolani with garlic-cheese on top. SO good. Like a toasted pumpkin pastry. Delicious. Man, I love bolanis.

A while after that, I was still a bit hungry so I had a couple of… tomatoes!

dry farmed Early Girls

I am going to be so sad when these little babies aren’t available anymore. They are SO GOOD.

I was very excited about dinner because last week, I got my very first Dutch oven. I’ve wanted one forever but finally decided to go for it. It’s an inexpensive ($49 including free shipping) Lodge. Isn’t it pretty? It also weighs about a metric ton.

My first recipe was something that somebody recommended on Twitter: Cooking Light’s Classic Pot Roast. I had bookmarked that a while ago in anticipation of this day.

It took a long time to cook, so I threw it all in the oven and ate it when I got home from WW. It was delicious! and it was almost all gone, so I think it was a hit with the fam as well.

After dinner, I had some trail mix from JFK airport that I’d bought for my trip, but didn’t eat on the plane. It hit the spot.

I’m going to bed just a little hungry tonight. I’d saved up my points for the pot roast, but didn’t end up eating a huge portion. But that’s fine.

Do you have a Dutch Oven? What’s your favorite recipe you make with it?

From → Food

5 Comments
  1. Oooh, pretty! I have a Dutch oven and use it mostly for roasts and cassoulet.

    http://www.fitnessandfreebies.com/lowfat/archive/cassoulet.html

  2. I love the mug.

    I love the pumpkin bolini’s.

    I have always called the big pot that comes with a set of pots and pans the Dutch Oven. We use ours for a lot of things . . . .hummingbird food is one.

    Oh, I need to go look up that recipe.

  3. I wish my picky BF would eat pot roast. I gotta get my Mom to cook me foods like that. lol I have a dutch oven but use it mostly on the stove top for every day stuff.

    mmm bolani! 🙂

  4. Im sorry, but whenever I hear the words “dutch oven” I laugh. LOL. Yep, im immature. 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention New Dutch Oven! Pot Roast! Yum! « What Foodie Eats -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

