Skip to content

Rainy Day: Chili & More Chocolate

October 25, 2010

It poured rain all day today. I decided, since I had nothing scheduled, that I would spend the day reading and hanging out. It was very lazy but amazing since I never do this.

Started out by sleeping late and then, oatmeal.

Later on, I had ideas about what I might like to prepare and eat but I did NOT want to go out to shop. We often fall into the ridiculous notion that “we have nothing to eat here” but really, look at our refrigerator.

And our pantry (sorry for the blur; you get the idea). It is insane how much food we have.

I scrounged around and found this packet for black bean soup/chili.

It took a good 3 hours to cook, which pretty much explains why it’s been sitting in the pantry for I don’t know how long. It came out pretty good.

Meanwhile,  I continued experimenting with various chocolate concoctions.

The Fiber One chocolate and PB Haystacks: Um, not very tasty. I’m not bringing them to the event on Wednesday.

The choco-fudge bites from the WeightWatchers.com site: tasty but tiny. I sprinkled half with powdered sugar and half with Mexican cocoa. Both good.

Finally, I tried some chocolate-dipped strawberries. For some reason I can never get the chocolate to be liquid enough to actually dip. It was way too thick, and a little lumpy. And didn’t stick to the strawberries very well. However: very tasty.

From → Food

8 Comments
  1. stopping in to say how I LOVED your FB update yesterday.
    life is indeed about stopping and being still and listening to what our bodies are demanding.

    xo xo

  2. Wow…you were soooo productive! The soup looks delicious, and now I really want some strawberries. 🙂

  3. I think I saw 3 containers of hummus (all different brands) in that fridge! lol WOW you have a full pantry too! I love how you said you don’t have anything. lol 🙂

    • Yeah, we as a family have sort of a pathological fear of running out of hummus! We also drink 4 kinds of milk. LOL

  4. OMG your fridge is STUFFED!! That’s awesome! And the pantry too.. If you had gone grocery shopping, where would you have put anything? Lol. Even when my roommate and I buy what seems like tons of food, and we think it will last for a while, it’s gone in the blink of an eye. We are big eaters, especially him, and so our fridge and food cabinet are never very full.

    • It’s so true, we would not have had room for a THING. The thing is, we have 3 adults who regularly go shopping, and not enough communication, so there is often overlap and well, you see.

      • i see. I usually leave the shopping up to my roommate, and I give him lists and he calls me from the store to make sure he’s getting what we need, so even when I shop too, we don’t get the overlap, esp since we share meals.

  5. You could have taken a picture of my refrigerator as it is today – one of my things to do tonight is to clean it out if I do nothing else.

    I am not too good with chocolate either – I find that chocolate bark melts really well though and I buy it cheap at Hobby Lobby of all places!

Leave a Reply

